#1 (permalink)  
Old 10th June 2008, 10:16 AM
patrick1966's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 945
Exclamation Beware of Hallmark E-Cards!

Greeting card malware warning

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Greeting card malware warning
Posted 10 hours ago

If you receive an email that claims to be a greeting card sent by Hallmark be very wary of opening it.

Security experts are warning of a scam in which a surfer receives an email with the subject line 'You've received A Hallmark E-Card!'. The body text of the message, which contains a spelling error, urges you to open an attachment to see the greeting.

However, the attached file, postcard.exe, is a Notepad file with some random characters inserted into it. This is intended to distract the recipient while malware is installed in the background. Trend Micro, who discovered the scam, said the tactic was not a new one. "This is not the first time malware authors tried to trick users by exploiting their curiosity and desire to receive good tidings via greeting cards: Storm started out much the same way," said Trend Micro's Jowell Lim.
__________________
"Testing: CoolsatPro4000, FLU-PansatPuff, Pansat2700A & ViewsatExtreme 2000 for educational purposes only"
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Tired of waiting days for fixes? Click here to get 3000 channels.. NO DOWNTIME, Guaranteed!

  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th June 2008, 08:34 PM
MRT's Avatar
MRT MRT is offline
ViP Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Out On The Edge
Posts: 307
nice to no.........thanks
__________________
Pleasure comes in many way's...

The information provided by myself is for educational purposes only. I do not condone the use of any information to receive any unauthorized channels
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th June 2008, 12:02 AM
MASTER OF DISASTER's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: florida
Posts: 2,094
thanks for the info bud. just got a virus out of my comp. darn sure dont need another one. keep an eye out everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
Please do not PM or profile message me with questions that can be answered in the forums!!!!!


IN GOD WE TRUST. keep that always
testing pansat 9000hd and sv4000, sv360 premier, pansat 2700a, satopia ST1100-UT

http://www.maritime-fta.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th June 2008, 04:37 PM
eminem1's Avatar
F.F Social butterfly.
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 927
that is some great info
__________________
The San Diego Chargers is the best team in the NFL!!!!!!!!!!!



Unauthorized decoding of encrypted signals from either domestic or foreign providers is against the law. I personally do not, nor condone such activities.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Tired of waiting days for fixes? Click here to get 3000 channels.. NO DOWNTIME, Guaranteed!

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Maritime-fta

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:07 PM.

eXTReMe Tracker
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Design By HTWoRKS